<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Stealing Pagerank?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://andybeard.eu/137/stealing-pagerank.html/feed" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://andybeard.eu/137/stealing-pagerank.html</link>
	<description>Internet Marketing, Lead Acquisition, Online Business Strategy and Social Media with Original Opinion and Loads of Attitude</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 11 Feb 2012 13:54:35 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	
	<item>
		<title>By: Karl Erfurt</title>
		<link>http://andybeard.eu/137/stealing-pagerank.html#comment-105725</link>
		<dc:creator>Karl Erfurt</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 04 Nov 2007 07:59:02 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andybeard.eu/2006/11/stealing-pagerank.html#comment-105725</guid>
		<description>I can confirm that the comment by Jon Symons above is probably correct. About four months ago (before the most recent PageRank update) I did a little research on a known scam site called DrumCash.com and discovered to my amazement that they had a PR7 according to my Search Status indicator. 

I was curious to see what sort of sites could possibly be linking to them in order to justify this PR7, so I did a search for their backlinks at Google. Interestingly, all of the backlinks and related sites pointed to a site called ValueClick, which had a PR8 at the time. I searched around on the ValueClick site and couldn&#039;t find a single link to DrumCash, which was not really surprising since these two sites were unrelated, not to mention the fact that it seemed very unlikely that ValueClick would want to link to a scam site like DrumCash anyway. 

Therefore, I surmise that DrumCash used the redirect trick mentioned above in order to artificially inflate their PR display. I do not know how well this fake PR survived the latest update, however.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I can confirm that the comment by Jon Symons above is probably correct. About four months ago (before the most recent PageRank update) I did a little research on a known scam site called DrumCash.com and discovered to my amazement that they had a PR7 according to my Search Status indicator. </p>
<p>I was curious to see what sort of sites could possibly be linking to them in order to justify this PR7, so I did a search for their backlinks at Google. Interestingly, all of the backlinks and related sites pointed to a site called ValueClick, which had a PR8 at the time. I searched around on the ValueClick site and couldn&#8217;t find a single link to DrumCash, which was not really surprising since these two sites were unrelated, not to mention the fact that it seemed very unlikely that ValueClick would want to link to a scam site like DrumCash anyway. </p>
<p>Therefore, I surmise that DrumCash used the redirect trick mentioned above in order to artificially inflate their PR display. I do not know how well this fake PR survived the latest update, however.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Jon Symons</title>
		<link>http://andybeard.eu/137/stealing-pagerank.html#comment-337</link>
		<dc:creator>Jon Symons</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 18 Nov 2006 16:06:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://andybeard.eu/2006/11/stealing-pagerank.html#comment-337</guid>
		<description>I&#039;m not sure it&#039;s possible to steal the &quot;juice&quot; but I have seen sites steal the PR. Just take a domain and do a permanent redirect to a PR9 site, zdnet.com for example.

Then in 6 - 12 months, remove the redirect and your new site will have a PR9 until the next page rank. For a while even when you do a link:yournewdomain.com you will find it has a ton of backlinks, but if you click on the results in the SERPS they will all go to zdnet.com.

Many scammers also use this technique to prop up a domain name and then sell it while it has an artificially high PR.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m not sure it&#8217;s possible to steal the &#8220;juice&#8221; but I have seen sites steal the PR. Just take a domain and do a permanent redirect to a PR9 site, zdnet.com for example.</p>
<p>Then in 6 &#8211; 12 months, remove the redirect and your new site will have a PR9 until the next page rank. For a while even when you do a link:yournewdomain.com you will find it has a ton of backlinks, but if you click on the results in the SERPS they will all go to zdnet.com.</p>
<p>Many scammers also use this technique to prop up a domain name and then sell it while it has an artificially high PR.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

<!-- Performance optimized by W3 Total Cache. Learn more: http://www.w3-edge.com/wordpress-plugins/

Page Caching using disk: basic
Database Caching 29/34 queries in 0.029 seconds using disk: basic
Object Caching 412/416 objects using disk: basic
Content Delivery Network via cdn5.andybeard.name

Served from: andybeard.eu @ 2012-02-13 08:10:30 -->
